Peoples Security Bank & Trust, Carbon Chamber & Economic Development Corp. and more name new hires, promotions

Amy DiNunzio//August 31, 2023

Laura Haffner, Kathy Henderson, Graig Schultz and Matthew McClinnis, Eric Danielson and Joseph R. Falcon III. PHOTOS/PROVIDED

Peoples Security Bank & Trust, Carbon Chamber & Economic Development Corp. and more name new hires, promotions

Amy DiNunzio//August 31, 2023


Wormleysburg, Cumberland County-based Pennsylvania Food Merchants Association named David Simonetti a board member. Simonetti is a senior director of store operations and business operations for Wawa Inc., responsible for markets including Pennsylvania and for store operations business support services.

Chicago-based American Bar Association’s Section of Intellectual Property Law named Joseph R. Falcon III vice chair of the International Patent Laws Committee and liaison to the ABA-IPL Section of Litigation. Falcon will also be involved with the Patent Section 101 Task Force. Falcon is a partner with the intellectual property practice group of Lancaster-based Barley Snyder. Falcon, who works in the Malvern, Chester County, office, is a registered U.S. Patent and Trademark Office patent attorney.

Banking and finance

Scranton, Lackawanna County-based Peoples Security Bank & Trust named Michael Severo vice president and commercial lending officer in the Lehigh Valley Region. Severo, who has more than 20 years of banking experience, will establish and develop commercial relationships in the Lehigh Valley and provide local deposit and lending products.

San Francisco-based Wells Fargo & Company gave Laura Haffner, regional branch network executive of the Greater Pennsylvania Region, expanded responsibilities due to a regional district realignment. Haffner’s Allentown, Lehigh County-based region will extend from outside the Philadelphia suburbs west to Harrisburg and will also include branches in Bucks, Chester, Delaware and Montgomery counties. Haffner has nearly 40 years of banking experience. John Zimmerman was named regional branch network executive for the expanded Greater Philadelphia Delaware Region. Zimmerman has more than 23 years of banking experience and will lead employees in Bucks, Montgomery, Delaware and Philadelphia counties, as well as parts of New Jersey and Delaware. The previous leader of the Delaware Valley region, Joe Kirk, retired.

Economic development

Lehighton, Carbon County-based Carbon Chamber & Economic Development Corp. named Kathy Henderson executive director. Henderson will lead the organization and continue to grow economic development initiatives in the county. Hendeson will also continue as director of economic development.


Allentown, Lehigh County-based Muhlenberg College named Eric Danielson dean of admissions. Danielson has worked in enrollment management for 18 years.


Lower Towamensing Township, Carbon County-based Blue Mountain Resort named William McPartland food and beverage director. McPartland, who has more than 25 years of restaurant experience, will oversee operations, menu development and implementation at the resort’s restaurant; supervise all catering events and oversee special culinary events.


Bethlehem, Northampton County-based Via of the Lehigh Valley Inc. elected Graig Schultz and Matthew McClinnis board members. Schultz is an associate attorney with King, Spry, Herman, Freund & Faul LLC. McClinnis is senior global financial reporting analyst at Victaulic Co.

Reading-based Berks County Community Foundation elected Susan Denaro chair of its board of directors. Denaro is an attorney at Georgeadis Setley and has practiced law for more than 30 years, primarily focusing on adoption and estate planning and administration and also handling guardianship, real estate, and family law matters. Denaro is also the solicitor for the Prothonotary of Berks County prothonotary. Thomas F. Flynn, Carissa Johnson and Rick Stoudt were elected board members. Flynn is senior associate for advising services at the Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities, senior fellow at the Association of Governing Boards and president emeritus of Alvernia University. Johnson is a magisterial district justice for southeast Reading. Stoudt is president of High Construction Co.

Hanover Township, Northampton County-based Valley Youth House named Courtney Wagaman vice president of Lehigh Valley Independent Living, Permanency and Emergency Services.


-Compiled by Amy DiNunzio